Notification of a cell phone call

I’m still getting started with openHAB and am constantly amazed by what it can do. However one feature I’d like to add, I can not figure out how to do. I’d like openHAB to be aware when I get a phone call or text message on my cell phone. That way the lights could flash or play a sound. My phone is a samsung galaxy running Andriod with a common U.S carrier (A&TT)
I’m not asking for code or examples, maybe just a hint, I’ve look at a lot of the openHAB add ons and apps for the phone but just don’t seem to find a way to accomplish this. Have used IFTTT and strinify but don’t like relying on internet based sevices. Thanks for any help

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: _dedicated pc w/ i3 8Gbs RAM & 1 Tb hd
    • Java Runtime Environment: which java platform is used and what version
    • openHAB version: 2.4

I haven’t tried this, but the approach I’d take would be something like Automate or Tasker the phone. You’d configure it interact with an item over the openhab rest API.

As long as you’re only concerned with this working when the phone is connected to your home network that should be all you need.

yes, I only want it to work with openHAB when I am at home.
I will google Automate and Tasker but I am unsure of what you are talking about, I’m guessing an app on the phone
Thank you for your reply

Indeed, ok both are phone apps. Automate I’ve never seen before. It has building blocks for incoming calls and SMS received, great. Then how to get to openHAB? HTTP request? Tasker seems to have an event for missed calls and actions for send SMS or making a call but not sure if it can do something in response to an incoming call.

oh ok… there is the hint for my first question, so a HTTP request sent to REST api to set an item. Rule to react to item change… flash lights whatever when incoming call.