NX1000 Scene Controller Thing Z-Wave Binding

• Platform information: Linux
    • Hardware: x64/8GB/64GB storage
    • openHAB version: 2.5.8
  • Issue of the topic:

I’ve just acquired a Nexia Z-Wave NX1000 scene controller, I was able to pair the device but Open have shows it as “Device Unknown”, in this case, there’s no channel created… anything.

So it has 15 customizable buttons (Labels show on a small LCD screen) distributed in 3 page of 5 buttons each…,

I’m a noob and to be honest it seems to be a really good scene controller, is someone out there that already created such device or someone that can help me to create a device (thing) file for it?

this is how it appears inside the Papper UI Things Tab:

Z-Wave Node 015 (0178:5343:4735:1.0)

really appreciate your help and support!

Thanks

Welcome to OH…

You don’t need to create a “thing file” as such - what needs to happen is to create the database entry in the online database. A large chunk of this is done automatically by uploading an XML file that is auto generated by the OH binding.

The database guide is [here](https://www.cd-jackson.com/index.php/zwave/zwave-device-
database/zwave-device-database-guide). I’d suggest to take a look at this, but feel free to come back here and ask any questions that you will likely have and we’ll do our best to help you through.

1 Like

Thanks fot all your help Cris! I’ve already created the entry and filled up all the required data, but I have the following issue that I’m not able to resolve:

• thingid is > 15 characters - is this really necessary - it should just be the model number.

This is the URL, do you have any idea how to fix it, I haven’t been able to find the field to update it.

https://www.cd-jackson.com/index.php/zwave/zwave-device-database/zwave-device-list/devicesummary/1286#endpoints

Ticket Id: DTZ7KmvNfYQ has been created.

Also I think I made a mess adding the “Scene Activation” command class, so can you please help me also deleting such command?