OH2 Z-Wave Thing discovered but not recognized

I’m a noob, still learning how this all goes together.

I’m starting out with a few Z-Wave devices. I have them working in OH1.8, and I’m trying to get them working in OH2. I have discovered them in HabMin2. The ones it recognizes, I have connected to Items that I carried over from my 1.8 files, and those work fine.

I have one Thing that is marked as an Unknown Device. It’s a Linear PD300Z-2 plug-in dimmer. Over on cd-jackson.com, there’s what appears to be a preliminary entry for it. It is described as incomplete. But, there’s probably enough info there to get it working in a test environment. After all, OH1.8 can talk to it.

I’ve been searching around for the last hour, and I haven’t found a straightforward way to add that in. What I think I want to do is incorporate it into my local copy of the database, if that’s possible. It would be nice if there were a simple editing tool, or a “read XML file” option.

But, from what I’ve gleaned, the only way to do it, currently, is to set up an entire Eclipse development environment. I can do that, I suppose. But, since this is basically still at the in-my-spare-time phase, I was hoping for something a little more light weight.

Any hope of that?

Thanks,
Drake

There is always hope :slight_smile:

I took a quick look at the device entry in the database. It is missing the XML file that is generated by the binding. If you have this file available for that node ID, attach it here and we can get it added to the database. Look in userdata/zwave there should be some files in there nodeX.xml. These correspond to your z-wave node IDs.

The xml data, as you have discovered, is part of the z-wave binding. If you want to edit it by hand, you will need to get into the source code, as you also mentioned. The preferred approach is to update the entry for the device in the database as everyone will benefit from having the device supported.