OH3 and Insteon Hub

Hi All,

I have been using an ISY994 to manage my Insteon devices for about 10 years. I want to switch to something more configurable. ISY is way behind the current level of technology and I want to be able to use devices and services from various vendors.

I installed OH3 3.02 on a new Raspberry Pi 3-B+ using the openhabian image.

I have about 40 Insteon devices, mostly common dimmers, switches and plug modules. I am using an Insteon Hub on a hardwired network. The hub is model 2245-222 which I believe is commonly referred to here as a “2014”.

I finally managed to get the HUB installed so that it at least said “ONLINE” as well as 10 or so switches, but nothing works.

I checked the log and it is loaded with these errors:
[WARN ] [steon.internal.device.ModemDBBuilder] - Modem database download was unsuccessful, restarting! No messages were received, … I get these every 9-10 seconds.

I also get these about every 30 seconds:
[WARN] [binding.insteon.internal.driver.Port] - port /hub/xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:25105 disconnected…

The HUB works fine. I am able to use the Insteon app on my phone and Alexa with no problems.

On the bottom of the hub, there is a user name and password. However there seems to be nowhere to enter this on OH3. So I don’t know if this is required or not.

Admittedly, I am a newbie at this and it is a completely different paradigm than the ISY. But I am a software developer by profession (30 years), so I’ll catch on.

It would seem to me that nothing is going to work until I resolve the WARN messages resolved. I have searched this board, but there is not much on v3 yet, and older posts don’t necessarily align with what I see on the web UI.

Also, what do you guys mean by “paper”?

Any ideas would be very much appreciated.

With the 2245-222, you use the format: /hub2/my_user_name:my_password@192.168.1.100:25105

The /hub/ format is for the legacy 2242-222 hub.