OH3 KNX Binding - request for improvement

First of all, thanks a lot for all the work done on OHx!

I have an OH2.5 installation up and running since about 2 years and think I have some experience with OH.

Now I decided to setup a new OH3 system (Raspi 4b 4GB) from scratch using UI only. In general it works great but I had some strange experiences by setting up alarm items.

Newly defined things go online immediately. Then I defined several items like a windows contact using my OH2.5 knowledge regarding GAs. For the window contact I used 1.009:5/2/60+<5/2/60 as GA. It works as expected - OPEN / CLOSED as results.

Then I specified an alarm contact of my presence detector as shown in the screenshot

I use a contact because it is a sensor. The result is consistently NULL. There is nothing in the logs, neither an error or warning nor an event of the alarm - which I double-checked via a bus monitor.

After some other trials I found out that changing the GA from “1.005:2/3/60+<2/3/60” to “2/3/60” or “2/3/60+<2/3/60” (removing the DPT) did the trick.

I don’t understand the difference for a windows contact and a similar alarm contact.
Other DPTs like 9.004 for luminance are working.

Therefore my first request is to extend all lines requiring a GA by an exact syntax example to make clear what is allowed / expected here.

The next irritation is that for the alarm contact I get CLOSED / OPEN as results which is not very obvious to interprete. Having the DPT as part of the GA (like in OH2.x) would allow to give back the corresponding expexted result and makes things easier.

I would really appreciate if you would improve the KNX logic and the GA UI hints.

Thanks a lot in advance
Helmut

Please be aware that DPT is (for now) only the knx side of communication. In question of a Bit there is simply no difference between any DPT, as it’s 1 or 0 in knx. in openHAB it’s depending on the channel type (switch type : ON/OFF, contact type : OPEN/CLOSED)