OH3 normal rules trigger but script based rules do not trigger at all

Hi,

I tried to solve this by reading through the other trigger topics but I can’t find an answer that works for me.
I’m new to OH3 and I probably make a dumb mistake.

The following rule should be triggered everry second but it does not do anything.

rule "TestTime"
when
    Time cron "* * * ? * *"
then
    logInfo("___","rule Test Time")
    Generic_MQTT_Thing_BashTest.sendCommand(OFF)
end

I don’t see the MQTT message (note the item works fine manually) and I also don’t see any log entry. I only see a “Rule TestTime has been updated” log entry when I save the rule.

If I create a rule with the simple rule engine it works fine and it is triggered every second and I also see the item related log entries and the MQTT messages.

configuration: {}
triggers:
  - id: "1"
    label: Test Timer
    configuration:
      cronExpression: "* * * ? *  *"
    type: timer.GenericCronTrigger
conditions: []
actions:
  - inputs: {}
    id: "3"
    configuration:
      itemName: Generic_MQTT_Thing_BashTest
      command: ON
    type: core.ItemCommandAction

Both rules have a green “IDLE” sign next to it.
But why is the second “simple” rule working as expected and the first script based rule is not working at all?

I found in another discussion that Java could be a problem but the installed version sould be fine:
openjdk version “11.0.17” 2022-10-18
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (build 11.0.17+8-post-Ubuntu-1ubuntu220.04)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 11.0.17+8-post-Ubuntu-1ubuntu220.04, mixed mode, sharing)

What do I do wrong?

I would be grateful for any hints…

here is more technical info
runtimeInfo:
version: 3.4.0
buildString: Release Build
locale: default
systemInfo:
configFolder: /etc/openhab
userdataFolder: /var/lib/openhab
logFolder: /var/log/openhab
javaVersion: 11.0.17
javaVendor: Ubuntu
osName: Linux
osVersion: 5.15.0-56-generic
osArchitecture: amd64
availableProcessors: 2
freeMemory: 27495736