Open an Old Intercom With My Android Phone

Hey there,

Its my first time here.

I need to connect the our building intercom to my phone. The goal is to be able to open the door using the phone remotely.

Our building is old and so as our intercom system and I can not replace it.

Any idea how to start such a project?

Take a look at the Fibaro Universal Binary Sensor:

It’s often used to adapt older alarm systems to Z-Wave if there is any output from the old system which could serve as an “on or off” detection.
If you can get the actual state of your intercom through this sensor you could attach a relay to your intercom to open the door.

I had a similar problem. The available documentation for our intercom was very old and incomplete, hence my very hacky solution was:

• solder connectors to the cables carrying power to the video display part of the intercom. The power goes on when the front door buzzer is pushed. I have those connectors linked to a relay, and that triggers a Fibaro sensor so I know when someone rings the buzzer
  • solder connectors to the intercom PCB in parallel with the “open door” switch, and then control this with a Fibaro relay

Works very nicely. Next objective is to attach a raspberry pi to the composite video cable that goes into the entryphone, so I can view it from openhab

Hello @dan12345,

Im trying to do a similar solution, may i ask which fibaro relay are using?

My intercom works with 12v DC, i guess the relay fgs222 for example won’t work…
Are you using the universal sensor?

I have mains power nearby which I use to power the FGS222. Annoyingly there don’t seem to be any zwave relays that work on low voltage DC. The universal sensor description is misleading - the relays are simply triggered by the inputs, and can’t be operated independently.

By way of a quick update: taking video off the composite video turned out to be easy - then a raspberry pi with cheap USB video dongle streams it using mjpg-streamer.