Openhab 1.8 holdout... should I skip openhab 2 entirely?

I’m an openhab 1.8 holdout. I’ve been using it for five years and been very happy with OH. But I’m tired of hacking things back into 1.8, and wouldn’t mind ditching all the workarounds and having bug fixes and new features. I’ve decided it’s time to put 1.8 out to pasture.

The question I have now is… since I’ve waited so long to upgrade, OH 3 is on the horizon. Would it make sense to jump directly from 1.8 to 3? (Either now, or in 1 or 2 months?)

The reason I’m asking is because my rules (in the xtend rules engine) are pretty hefty. 1M of text rules, split into 610 rules. (Or at least those are the numbers according to grep… :smiley: ) There is a lot of institutional knowledge coded in these rules. I know that I’m going to have to make tweaks and adjustments to go upgrade to OH2.

…but then I was reading that there’s going to be a next generation rules engine in OH3? This is the point where I get confused. I’m unclear if the rules engine means I’d need to re-write all my rules in yet another new language, or does it mean something else?

I’m not against rewriting all my rules in order to facilitate upgrading. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not looking forward to doing it either, but eggs, omelette, all that. It could be done marathon style over a looooong weekend, such as Thanksgiving coming up.

But what I DON’T want to do is rewrite six hundred rules, only to have to re-write six hundred rules again once OH3 comes out. Is that what I’m looking at if I upgrade from 1.8 -> 2.5, then from 2.5 -> 3.0?

I guess what I’m looking for opinions on my upgrade path. Should I upgrade to 2.5? Upgrade to 2.5 and rewrite all the rules in XYZ? Chuck everything and start over with 3.0 and rewrite all the rules in MNOP? What would you do if you were me, and why?

It’s funny, I’ve been using OH for five years but feel like I know absolutely nothing looking at OH3.