Openhab 3 Docker vs raspberry

Hi everyone, since openhab 3 is around the corner I’m thinking how i will continue. Today I have openhab 2 install in a server with another programs, I’m moving my diferent servert to docker so I love the idea to move openhab to docker, but that means to put all the eggs in the same basket, also I’m still new with docker and i want to use exec and ssh in docker. My other option is to move openhab to a rapsberry 3. But the fisrt time I did that i have problem with the sd card and stability.
Finally I have usb zigbee/zwave dongle. So if I choose rapsbetty, the usb will be connect directly in the middle of the house. If not i will use the raspberry all the same for ser2met to socat conection (I still can’t get it to work properly).
The most important thing is stability and availability. So I ask Docker and raspberry user your opinions.
Thanks

If you are already running on a server I see little benefit on moving to a Pi. I moved from a Pi quite a while ago and not use it for OH testing.

My current plan is to install docker on my server & put OH3 in that along with HABApp. My current OH2 is running natively in the VM.

Your requirements will be unique so it’s hard to give any meaningful advice. I personally run four VMs on a single machine using ESXi. I deploy all my services, including openHAB as containers to the VMs (each VM has a separate purpose, one of which is where all the home automation services are deployed) using Ansible. I run a little service (https://github.com/rkoshak/sensorReporter) on RPis around the house to interact with relays and sensors and such. That script also supports running command line scripts so that’s how I manage Exec binding stuff. I don’t do any ssh stuff from openHAB itself.

1 Like

I use docker on my home server. I have about 10-15 containers running different services.
I’m a huge fan of Docker, I use it a lot professionally in AWS-environments as well as onprem servers and development environments.