OpenHab 3 Newbie ZigBee Xiaomi Gateway 3

Hello all,

I’m an absolute newbie here when it comes to openhab.

Have installed the OpenHab on my Raspberry Pi 3.

I have installed the following Things according to the Youtube video

• MQTT Binding
  • NTP Binding

Now I want to go one step further I have some HomeMatic devices hanging in the WLAN

• Alexa socket
  • Nooie socket (Aqura, Mijia)
  • Xiaomi motion detector (Aqura, Mijia)
  • Xiaomi thermometer (Aqura, Mijia)
  • Xiaomi Door Contacts (Aqura, Mijia)
  • Xiaomi 360 Degree Camera
  • Xiaomi Gateway 3

I would like to connect these to my Openhab.

Only unfortunately I am a bit confused right now.

Do I have to connect the gateway from Xiaomi to my Raspberry or can I integrate this a plugged ZigBee stick? (unfortunately I bought a ZigBee without firmware, now I have to get a new one).

Which stick do I need then and which Things do I have to install then?

On the Internet I read mostly only CC2530 or CC2531 or ConBee II now I’m even more confused.

On the internet I just read

Thank you very much

Take a look at Xiaomi Mi Smart Home - Bindings | openHAB

If you prefer to have a Zigbee gateway that does not depend on the cloud there are some options:

1. USB dongles supported by ZigBee - Bindings | openHAB You should pay attention to the coordinator limits (# of devices) range (CC253x is known to have a weak antenna) and placement (zigbee can interfere with wifi, so proximity with AP’s should be avoided and this often requires a usb extension cable)
  2. Build a MQTT network and use a Tasmotized coordinator. MQTT is more complex than using the zigbee binding. I use a Sonoff ZBBridge and I’m very happy. It can be installed anywhere 5VDC is available (which can be supplied by a mobile charger)

For larger distances (>5m) you may need zigbee routers (which are similar to wifi extenders). Some zigbee devices (such as lamps and sockets) can act as routers.