OpenHab API

Hi,

I am new to OpenHab. I have had a read through the website but don’t seem to be able to find any documentation on API access.

I would like to be able to install OpenHab on a Raspberry Pi, open a firewall port on my router to the outside world, and send commands to the API to control my hardware.

Is this possible?

Could anyone point me to the API documentation so I can see when endpoints are available please?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Trev

Refer the below link.

https://www.eclipse.org/smarthome/documentation/features/rest.html

Are eclipse & OpenHab the same thing then?

Do they share a common API?

Trev

openHAB is build to work with different so called bindings in order to communicate with other devices. In your wording such a binding would hold the required API for the device. Different devices need different APIs or better bindings. The binding are the communication layer between openHAB and the devices.
What kind of devices do you have.
Why do you need to open the firewall, that would be necessary only if you which to control from outside the local net. There are other possibilities for that available.

Thanks for taking the time to reply. I am new to this so apologies for my lack of knowledge.

I am a c#.net developer and am used to working with REST JSON APis… So, I was hoping that somehow I there was a “controller” of some type that enable me to send a command to it over my network saying, for example, turn light 1 on to 50%…

I would like to write my own custom app to send the commands. So trying to work out what going “in between” my application and the zwave devices…

Trev

This is what Openhab does overall. Openhab provides rules for self-contained automation, and a choice of UIs for interaction. Difficult to see what you are trying to achieve here.