openHAB for Managing Load Shedding for Solar Inverters - A Good Fit?

I have a home with multiple heat pumps controlled by about 10 ecobee thermostats. A backup power system with 2 LG batteries and 2 SolarEdge inverters can supply emergency power to at most one heat pump at a time or the inverter will trip offline.

By offering options to command heat or cooling to one zone at a time, using small temperature offsets, my hope would be to manage the load to stay within the limits of the inverters.

I was attracted to openHab because of available bindings for both ecobee thermostats (to control the thremostats) and ModBus/Sunspec (to read the output of the inverter and detect a grid outage). Most of the tedious work is there, leaving only the high level logic to be implemented, plus perhaps an Alexa control interface.

If this is my only goal, do folks think openHab and its learning curve is overkill, or maybe just about right? I’m a software engineer and could hack something much smaller together perhaps from an MQTT and Modbus library and try to keep it simple, but it would likely be less extensible and maintainable.

All thoughts welcome.

I do something like this with my OH system. I have an off-grid home with 10kw of solar and a 5kw Vicron inverter. Once the battery bank is full, I dump excess solar into a waterheater element. I have a set of openHab rules that calculate excess solar potential and total inverter load. OH then turns a sonoff POW on or off to dump load into the waterheater. It detects the total inverter load and reacts to other loads coming on and off to avoid overload issues.
This has been working well for over a year with no inverter overload cut-outs.
I’m happy to share the code if it helps.

Gavin, thanks for the reply. Are you using Modbus to monitor the inverters?

No, the Victron gear uses MQTT.
Before changing to Victron I used (awful) Morningstar gear - that was all Modbus, it was not very reliable. I now use MQTT wherever possible.

1 Like