openHAB limitations

Hi,

I am building my home automation and the numbers are starting to grow: number of item files, number of items, number of rules etc. The reason is that I try to decouple as much as possible things.

My question: I know it depends on the system, I run on RPI3, openhabian only, is there any known limitation that I should not exceed:

1. Number of item files
  2. Number of rule files
  3. Number of items
  4. Number of rules

I am mainly concern about performance (not boot time performance)

Thx

1 Like

I’m not an expert of openHab (yet), so someone should correct me or make it more specific, but I don’t think that there is a limit on these files/items. The more file you have the little slower it might get during booting, because it has to parse each file individually, but it won’t affect the performace later, since it’s parsed - ie.: loaded.

The number of items/rules, I haven’t heard anyone complaining about this. There are a couple of users who run OH on RPi and has more than 1000 items for example.

1 Like

There should be no limit.

However you should do what you can to apply DRY (Don’t Repeat Yourself) and avoid writing too many Rules that run at the same time as well as Rules that take a long time to Run.

The more lines of Rules files you have the longer boot times and loading and parsing of edits.

Finally, decoupled is good but don’t go out of your way to add decoupling for decoupling sake. There is already a huge amount of decoupling built into OH itself. You should focus on making your Items best represent the model of your home automation in a way that makes sense to you and others. If your model is so decoupled that it doesn’t make sense without grokking the gestalt, no one will be able to help you with problems.

1 Like

???

Sorry, too many idioms.

Grokking comes from Robert Heinlein’s novel Stranger in a Strange Land and means