Openhab not sending to MQTT (New user)

Hi,

I am a beginner, and have been struggling with MQTT. I setup Mosquitto as a broker, and tested using MQTT.fx that it is working well (arduino sending and receiving using the broker).
I added MQTT and set it up in the mqtt.cfg
then added in .items of the demo a switch:
Switch lamp2 “Office Lamp” (Garden, Lights) {mqtt=">[broker:/arduino/garden/com:command:ON:1],>[broker:/arduino/garden/com:command:OFF:0]"}

but it is not connecting to the mqtt broker

I am sure I am missing something basic, just can’t find what it is. any ideas or guidance would be welcome

Thanks

sam

Post mqtt.cfg

Post anything you see in the logs related to mqtt

i am also facing the same problem

on first look, I don’t believe you need the leading / after the broker: part… other than that:

have you checked to ensure the mqtt broker is started?

is the name of your MQTT broker in /etc/openhab2/mqtt.cfg called “broker” ?

is the openhab topic correct with no typo’s?

have you run ‘mosquitto_pub’ from command line and published an ON or OFF message to the topic to see if the broker is getting that message and switching the bulb? (I assume so, since you used mqtt.fx instead)

have you checked /var/log/mosquitto/mosquitto.log file for log entries?

is mqtt on the same server as openhab or elsewhere? if elsewhere, any firewall blocking tcp1883?

is mqtt authentication setup? if so, is the correct username/password combo set with no typos?

Thank you for the help. Details:
MQTT.CFG file:

#
# Define your MQTT broker connections here for use in the MQTT Binding or MQTT
# Persistence bundles. Replace <broker> with an ID you choose.
#

# URL to the MQTT broker, e.g. tcp://localhost:1883 or ssl://localhost:8883
broker:mosquitto.url=tcp://localhost:1883

# Optional. Client id (max 23 chars) to use when connecting to the broker.
# If not provided a random default is generated.
broker:mosquitto.clientId=openhabb