OpenHAB on Kubernetes

OK, so I’m not your typical home user, or maybe I’m a little crazy, or maybe a little of both. I recently set up a Kubernetes cluster in my basement, partly as a learning exercise, partly as a way to get all of the other experiments I run under control.

Naturally I wanted to move my OpenHAB server into the Kubernetes cluster. So far it seems to be a success. I still have a lot to learn about Kubernetes so I’m sure that this will evolve but I thought that I’d share what I’ve come up with so far.
Here you can find the configuration files that I used to deploy OpenHAB. If you know Kubernetes, these should make sense without a lot of explanation. If you don’t know Kubernetes, I’m not the person to explain as I’m still learning myself.

A few quick notes until I have time to write up a proper README:

1. It’s making use of the official OpenHAB Docker container. Using the official Docker container made getting this going fairly straightforward. I have some minor quibbles with how the Docker container is set up but they don’t necessarily get in the way of a running setup.
  2. The config files make use of node selectors so that the container always gets scheduled on a specific host. First because it needs access to the Aeotec Z-Wave Z-Stick so that OpenHAB can control my Z-Wave devices, second because for performance reasons I needed to keep the OpenHAB configs on a local disk rather than on my NAS. If your NAS was fast enough and you didn’t need to access specific hardware devices you could let Kubernetes schedule the container on any available node.
  3. Make sure that your Kubernetes setup is solid before trying to put OpenHAB into the mix! I’m still very new to Kubernetes so a lot of my problems have been related to incorrect setup of my Kubernetes cluster rather than problems with OpenHAB.
6 Likes