OpenHAB2 with multiple VLANs?

I’m just getting started with OpenHAB2. I seem to have everything running - I can get the weather!
Now I’m trying to integrate the things in my house - Nest, Harmony remote, etc.
The issue (I think) I’m running into if that all of my wireless devices are on a different network. For instance, my wired network (where OpenHAB lives) is 192.168.1.x, and my wireless network (With Nest, Harmony and several other devices) are on 192.168.100.x
For testing purposes, these networks are fully routed. there is no firewall involved.

How do you configure OpenHAB in an environment with more than one internal network? I hope I’m missing something simple! But I’ve looked through every bit of documentation I can find, and have so far drawn dead…

1 Like

Are you having trouble using the automatic discovery? I believe some /most for the discovery uses UPnP (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Universal_Plug_and_Play) and that requires UDP. Your network would need to support UDP across VLans. This would not be a typical setup…

For any of the addons I use, they would still work with manual configuration. i.e. I would manually add the thing and enter the IP address, and then add-on would take over from there.

You are likely going to have a rough time with two networks. I ran my HA software in the cloud but made sure to bridge it into my home network instead of routing it just so I don’t have to try to work around the multicast, upnp, bonjour, etc type problems.

If you want it to work you’ll probably need some “helper” software to get the traffic across your networks.

Why don’t you divide your network into logical VLAN’s instead of just wireless/wired? For example, I have a special ‘smart home’ network where all smart home devices (including OpenHAB) reside. It includes both wired and wireless devices.