OpenHabian owntracks and mosquitto

Ok so i really cant seem to get owntracks set up as a presence detection to work, i know there are other topics regarding this but ive read them all with no luck.
so my set up so far is openhabian on a RPi3, i have owntracks on my phone with a single region set as home.
I have mosquitto set up on the RPi3 and so far the logs suggest that it connects to owntracks and i can receive publishes from owntracks.
I have the mqtt binding set up for local host
and I have a switch item subscribing to event publishes from mosquitto and a site map showing said item .
I believe that openhab isnt connecting to mosquitto as it doesnt show it connecting in the log and thats why my sitemap switches don’t work.
does anyone have any ideas of what im doing wrong ?

mqtt.cfg

# Define your MQTT broker connections here for use in the MQTT Binding or MQTT
# Persistence bundles. Replace <broker> with an ID you choose.
#

# URL to the MQTT broker, e.g. tcp://localhost:1883 or ssl://localhost:8883
mosquitto.url=tcp://localhost:1883

# Optional. Client id (max 23 chars) to use when connecting to the broker.
# If not provided a default one is generated.
mosquitto.clientId=

# Optional. User id to authenticate with the broker.
mosquitto.user=openhab

# Optional. Password to authenticate with the broker.
mosquitto.pwd=*********

# Optional. Set the quality of service level for sending messages to this broker.
# Possible values are 0 (Deliver at most once),1 (Deliver at least once) or 2
# (Deliver exactly once). Defaults to 0.
mosquitto.qos=1

# Optional. True or false. Defines if the broker should retain the messages sent to
# it. Defaults to false.
mosquitto.retain=true

# Optional. True or false. Defines if messages are published asynchronously or
# synchronously. Defaults to true.
mosquitto.async=false

# Optional. Defines the last will and testament that is sent when this client goes offline
# Format: topic:message:qos:retained <br/>