Please advise on moving rules from older version to OH 3

Hi,

I have been running OH for several years. I started with version 1, then did an upgrade to v2, without any change in config (at least, I don’t remember changing anything significant, it was years ago). Now I’m in the process of moving to v3. I decided to do clean install (see my config below) and then recreate objects (items, rules, etc) manually. My question is - should rules written for v1 run on v3? Can I just copy the rule body into “Then” part of the rule being created and expect it to execute? Do I understand it right that DSL is basically the same language used in previous versions for writing rules?

If yes, then I’ll come back with more specific example not being executed.

Veiksmi,
Jānis

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: Raspberry Pi 2 /RAM 1GB/storage 16GB
    • Java Runtime Environment:
      openjdk version “11.0.18” 2023-01-17
      OpenJDK Runtime Environment (build 11.0.18+10-post-Raspbian-1deb11u1)
      OpenJDK Server VM (build 11.0.18+10-post-Raspbian-1deb11u1, mixed mode)
    • openHAB version: 3.4.2

Yes, mostly. An update to major versions almost always comes with some breaking changes. There were a few between 2 and 3. The parameters of executeCommandLine is a common one that comes to mind. But as with any such move, you’ll really just have to try it and see.

With OH3 there is the new Remote openHab binding which lets one (at least OH3) instance read all the items of a second (at least OH2) instance. Many people used this as a way to do the migration piecemeal by setting up parallel items in the two and moving/troubleshooting rules one at a time.

The bigger issue may be your bindings. OH2 still allowed the older V1 bindings, but in OH3 those are completely incompatible. SO if you’ve kept any of those old binding versions you’ll now have to work with the new versions (if they exist) and reconfiguring your things.

Thanks for the reply!