Possibility of processing string MQTT responses

A bit of history:-
I’m still fairly new to Openhab, but I have an installation that’s working well.
I’ve a custom controller that’s looking after my legacy home alarm, and various infrared beam sensors. For the past 15 years it’s been running on a Microchip device and was written in assembler. Not one hang or failure over all that time. Anyhow, recently I’ve moved to a MQTT device (initially a Raspberry Pi Zero hard wired into the original Microchip controller as a proof of concept), and now to a custom designed unit based around a ESP8266 - all written in Micropython.
It’s all working really well, very robust with WDT, and the ability to survive both Broker and wifi outages.

The published status from the ESP8266 is in the form of MQTT strings (alarm_en, alarm_dis, gate_open etc).
I can then easily display these, or push them to Telegram.

What I really want is the ability for the MQTT status string to contain some dynamic content (such as local timestamp).
String would be in the form of:-
06:04:23 17-11-2019:alarm_en
Rather than how I have it now which is just the static status string:-
alarm_en

Question is what would be the best method to process this string to strip the timestamp and actual status? My current rules are triggering when a specific string comes in “Item xxx received update alarm_en”?. Could I strip process the string before the rule runs.

I have an item like this.

String Status “Status [%s]” {mqtt="<[mosquitto:/x/y/z/status:state:default]"}

And the rule like this.

rule “status”
when
item Status received update “alarm_en”
then
send Telegram xxxxx
end

I’m just getting to grips with the Jython scripting, in order to give a bit more custom control and the same question applies with regard to the helpers.

@when(item Status received update alarm_en")

Sorry for the rambling description, hope it makes sense what I’m asking.

Cheers,

Steve