Potentially having new fusebox (UK) fitted with RCCBs, problems with 2 wire dimmers?

I’m considering having our old fusebox replaced with a fusebox that meets the current (haha!) UK building regulations. The new fusebox would have residual current circuit breakers which I believe would break the circuit when a difference of 30ma is detected.

I have a few Fibaro Dimmer 2 units fitted behind light switches around the house. The wiring in the house only has earth, live and switched live at the switch and these Fibaro dimmers cleverly leach a small amount of current to earth to power themselves. Does anyone know if these dimmers would cause the RCCBs to cut off?

Rewiring the lighting circuits to bring neutral down to the switches really isn’t an option, the wiring is plastered into the walls. If the dimmers are going to cause a problem then I’d rather no only find out after the fusebox has been replaced. :slight_smile:

Disclaimer I am not a electrician and not in your country.

I believe you are mixed up. It will not be earth but what is called neutral, active and switched active. If you don’t understand the differences please do not do any wiring and get a pro in.

The RCD’s will not trip as they only detect any current that does not return down the neutral because the current travels through a body into the ground. They do not stop people from getting killed so don’t think u r safe to do the work because u have them.

The switches that leak a bit of current through the light globe to still get power are then fussy on the type of globes you use. Some globes will block the leakage. Don’t buy your globes in bulk until you test one works.

1 Like

There’s no neutral at the switch, there’s live, switched live and earth. The neutral wire goes from light fitting to light fitting and never down to the light switch.

There’s a good explanation of the 2-wire system here: