Problems when creating new items

Hello everybody,

i am not to OpenHAb2 generally, and just used Alexa and some skills there. So not that much experience with OpenHAb2. But i am a technician so it is not that hard for me :slight_smile:

I have now been installing OpenHAb 2.2 as a qpkg package onto my QNAP nas and it seems everything works well.

The only behaviour i have been recognizing is driving me crazy. I have been installing the HUE binding at first and i have been creating items in my items file.
So i setup 2 bulbs succsessfully to have channels linked and have them in my sitemap.

Where i am facing issues now is, when i am creating new items (i tried out yahoo weather as example) and there is somehow a misconfiguration with that new item the old ones are getting also fucked up.

That means i need to uncomment all old already working items and need to recreate them with commenting them in again. Then i need to relink those items to get them to work again. Just because i made a mistake with a new item which doesnt have anything to do with the HUE bulbs ?!?

Is that a normal behaviour or i am doing something wrong? It is really timeconsuming to readjust that again and again.
Maybe Openhab 2.2 is not so stable?

Any comments and recommendations? I would really appeciate any help.

Thank you so much,
Geri

Never heard of anything like that.
What exactly happens with your old items? What does your openhab.log tell you?
How do you edit your items (which editor)? PaperUI or flat text?

It’s pretty stable, at least for me (and most of other users too)

ok i need to be honest - i forgot to look into the logfile and didnt do that until now
will do that today evening.

What happens: the items are disappearing in the paper ui (all of them incldugin groups) and if i go to the things tab - icant see them anymore linked.

then i need to uncomment them, and then remove the links at the things tab to"clean" it.