Radio Frequency Jam,in group commands , with Multiple RF Protocols

HAB Community, Hi there !

When executing a group command, to differents peripherals using different RF protocols, it appears that the transmission may fail , it these protocols send on the same frequency at the same time.

Can a general mechanism be implemented, to solve this issue ( a kind of delaying mechanism )

Thank you for ideas !!

Not really. Proper retransmission handling needs to take place at the radio layer, anything like an application level retransmission mechanism could lead to serious instabilities and problems of the ‘hard to find’ sort.
I strongly advise against it (and being a Telecoms engineer, I have encountered many situations similar to this and know what I’m talking about …).
Many radio protocols such as ZWave and ZigBee do implement retransmissions already at the radio layer, and with another retransmission layer at the application level, they would continue doing so.
In short: you would just create more traffic jam.

Sorry to tell you (you likely don’t want to hear about that), but the best solution for you would be to get rid of your zoo of systems/protocols that share the same frequency. Consolidate to a single radio system, preferrably one to have retransmission and routing built into the radio layer (because in total, it is using the RF spectrum more efficiently than those systems without these capabilities).
I know the situation, I do encounter it at times, too (I have ZWave and MAX! collide).
Just like the best solution to cope with traffic jams is to just drive when the others don’t, my workaround is to introduce artificial delays (using Thread::sleep()) in the loop that goes through the group members.
It’s working, but I still keep getting drop messages at times - they are a constant warning that I should never ever buy another system to use this radio band, even if it seems to be way cheaper - in the long run, it isn’t.