Recently I posted a question with the title: "Is this application all in java?" and was banned

Hello,

I would like to know the reason I was banned. I am a developer with experience of 34 years developing and I was really frustrated that someone coded a nice software like this in Java. I do Java, I did actually for a long time and I may tell you that there are a lot better choices that are portable.

User romrp - please remove the ban.

And, by the way, I posted it in OFFTOPIC, how this can be called trolling?

Rom Pereira

Beside your 34 years of experience coding in Java, are you used to arrive somewhere and pee on the sofa ?

If openHAB being developped with Java does not suit your expectations, feel free to find some other.

5 Likes

I remember this thread, but can’t find it anymore.
My guess is you created the account and wrote this one exactly in those two days which lost all data from due to an update misshap. Note, this is my guess!

1 Like

Hello Gaël,

Thank you for replying.

I do believe that not agreeing with something and expressing emotions about it is as aggressive as peeing on something that belongs to someone.

I liked OpenHab a lot. Yesterday I installed OpenHab with some basic bindings installed, no things running, etc, on my raspberry pi 3 B+ and noticed that it had 80% of the memory occupied when I logged in it through SSH. I was not interested in coding anything on it, I just had an idea and wanted something that would handle the human interface and remotes/reporting, then I went to see the code inside linux, I said, NO, all JAR, all compiled, all over coms, the nightmare all again… =)

But again, this is not trolling! I wanted to start a discussion!

Rom Pereira

1 Like

I’m not a moderator, so I can’t give you a apecific answer here, but IIRC it was your first post here with half of your positng in uppercase letters and a question which implies, that using Java as the code base for openHAB does not meet your expectations.