Require("openhab").rules is not exposing rule-builder methods / Typescript

Hello,

I am just getting started to shift my DSL-rules to JS Scripting with openhab-js. In general it seems to work fine. But the types are not recognized correctly on openhab.rules.*. Only the exported symbols of /rules/rules.js are exposed and in turn suggested by the IDE(vs-code).

My guess is, that the export from /types/openhab-js.d.ts
export const rules: typeof import("./rules/rules");
is invalid.

The solutions I tried are
1)

/**
* @typedef { import("openhab/types/rules/rule-builder").RuleBuilder } RuleBuilder
* @typedef { import("openhab/types/rules/rules") } Rules
* @typedef { RuleBuilder & Rules } RulesT
*/
const ruleBuilder = (/** @type {RulesT} */ (oh.rules))

Changing the export in openhab-js.d.ts (above) to
export const rules: typeof import("./rules/rules") & typeof import("./rules/rule-builder");

This at least gave me the rule-builder members (e.g. when). But nevertheless I don’t get any further suggestions from the IDE after ruleBuilder.when().*

In general I would be very interested if there is planned support for ES6 module import and .ts files.

Maybe I am using it wrong. Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers,
Michael

• Platform information: openhab:milestone in docker container
    • Hardware: synology nas
    • Java Runtime Environment
    • openHAB version: 3.4M5

Hello @mhauer,

at the openhab-js repo, where the JavaScript library is developed, we (the maintainers) are aware of this issue. Currently, we are missing the type definitions for the RuleBuilder API, but the rest of the library should be covered.

The problem why we haven‘t got type defs for RuleBuilder yet, is the complexity of RuleBuilder, for which I honestly haven‘t found the time yet to add type defs for it.

Just changing the export statement for the type defs is no solution, since your change would disable type definitions for JSRule, runRule, and so on.