Restore device state on power up

I’m a relative beginner so forgive me if I’ve misunderstood something.

After power is cut, I’d like to be able to restore my devices to the same state they were in when the power went off. I see from previous forum topics that I can use persistence to restore the item states but then need to propagate these to the devices by sending commands via an appropriate rule. I’ve also found an example of such a rule on the forum. All good.

What worries me is the order that things will happen. For instance, take a Hue lamp which was off (0, Hue dimmer) when the power was cut. When power is restored the lamp goes on (100%, seems to be what they do). My persistence configuration will at some point cause the corresponding item state to be set to 0, as it was before. At some later stage (I see that a delay is recommended) my startup rule will send a command to the lamp based on the item state.

But meanwhile the Hue binding is polling the bridge and causing the item state to be updated appropriately. If this happens after the item state has been restored to its pre power loss value but before my startup rule runs, then the item state will be set to on (100%), since that’s the state of the lamp at that time. The pre power loss value is lost and my startup rule will propagate the 100% item state value to the lamp and it will stay on.

Could this happen, or have I misunderstood something?

I’m running openHAB 2.4 on an rpi.

That’s no longer true if you don’t have very old Hue stuff. You can set them to return to the previous state (from within the App).