RFXCOM / RFXLAN Binding

Hi all,

I have a working RFXLAN from 2010, and it looks like the RFXCOM binding only supports the newer USB models. As I do not want to spend €110 ++ to replace a perfectly working device, I thought I would spend some time and see if I could get my device to work with OpenHAB.

Bart @ RFXCOM could not offer any documetation or help at all on how the RFXLAN works. :frowning: , but luckily the DomotiGa project is both open source (GPL) and supports the RFXLAN device so its not impossible to figure out how it works. :slightly_smiling:

After poking around with putty, a hex calulator and the DomotiGa source code (Gambas, a variation of basic), I appear to be able to see if a door opens or closes with my DS90’s.

So the plan is to clone the RFXCOM / binding template and create an RFXLAN binding for OH2 as OH1 is about to be superseeded by OH2. The only small challenge is that I’m not a developer, nor have I written a single line of Java in my life so it may take some time to complete…

If you too have an RFXLAN device and would like to test / help out, let me know.

JJ

Hi John,

Would it be possible to build the LAN support into the existing binding? Then you/we won’t have to maintain two sets of device definitions/classes.

Ben

Hi and short term no, long-term yes. Focus for me is to figure out how OH2 works, how bindings work, how to use eclipse (and not Visual Studio), java etc etc. Focus is not “clean” code for incorporating into RFXCOM.

JJ

I understand - although I would imagine 75% of the code is usable, so it might well save you time in the long run. I just don’t think having two separate bindings for effectively the same device/protocol is a great way to go. But then you are doing all the work so it is up to you! :wink:

Ben,

OH1’s existing binding for X10 security appears use the high/low part of byte 8 for battery and signal:

batteryLevel = (byte) ((data[8] & 0xF0) >> 4);
signalLevel = (byte) (data[8] & 0x0F);