Ring Alarm Binding?

Is anyone working on a binding for the Ring alarm system? I would greatly like to be able to access the state of my sensors or receive events from other z-wave devices that I have connected to my ring alarm.

1 Like

Same question here. A little more background:

I’m using Ring Alarm as my monitoring service as well as my Z-Wave hub. I have a few cameras on it and a few door, window and motion sensors on it. I already have it integrated with Alexa, but Alexa “automation” is very basic. I have it working with Home Assistant, but I’ve found HA difficult and it’s lack of native support to run on Windows has slowed me down a lot! I’m a Windows engineer by trade, so OH being able to run on Windows natively has made it very attractive for me.

Ring seems to be compatible with MQTT, because that’s how it’s working with HA. So, I’m not sure how much work is left to make it work with OH. OH has the superior interface and ease of use (IMO) over HA. So, I’m hoping some of the really smart OH community contributors would be willing to take this effort on.

I’m willing to test the solution thoroughly and issue a Bona Fide “AttaBoy (Girl, etc.)” to the person who gets this working!!

Thanks in advance for the help.

try this

I managed to install and run ring-mqtt + MQTT broker + MQTT Binding. and it “works”. Binding reports all my ring devices (motion and contact sensors, siren and keypad).
However, none is reporting the “expected” things. I have access to numbers (probably battery level) and switch.
Does anyone has any idea of why and how to have access to motion sensor contact info (opened / closed) ?
I will start to dig, but many components are totally new to me (mqtt protocol, mqtt broker software, openhab…)

It’s something else to learn, but if you use a 3rd-party tool like mqtt.fx to monitor payloads that you get from ring-mqtt it will ease the conversion to openHAB states.

haha I was missing a new area to uncover :wink: