RS485 Sending HEX bytes issue RPi

Hi all,

I’m new to OH and to this forum, thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

This issue has been bugging me for quite a long time now. I’ve read many of the good articles here, but none of them have fixed the issue for me.

I’m running OH 2.5.2 on a RPi 3. Whether relevant or not - I also have a zwave board attached.

Essentially, I change the switch item, the rule fires and I see the USB device TX light flash. I’ve connected my laptop and using realterm I see info arrive. However, the HEX string that arrives is not the sequence I’m expecting from the set below.
If I connect my laptop to the projector screen and send the HEX codes, it works fine, so I’m happy I’ve got the right pin-outs etc.
I’m guessing it’s something to do with encoding. I’ve tried loading the ISO-8859-1 coding in openhabian-config, i’ve tried setting BASE64, i’ve tried using a BASE64 encoded string, and all of the permutations I can think of…

I’ll kick myself if it’s something obvious, but at this stage I really don’t care if it is :slight_smile:

Any pointers or suggestions gratefully received!

I have followed this article:

My configuration looks like this:
/etc/udev/rules.d/99-usb-serial.rules
SUBSYSTEM==“tty”, ATTRS{idVendor}==“0403”, ATTRS{idProduct}==“6001”, SYMLINK+=“ttyUSB-rs485”, GROUP=“dialout”, MODE=“0666”

/etc/default/openhab2
EXTRA_JAVA_OPTS="-Dgnu.io.rxtx.SerialPorts=/dev/ttyUSB-rs485"

/items/projectorscreen.items
Switch ProjectorScreen “Projector Screen”
String ProjectorScreenRS485 “Projector Screen Control” { serial="/dev/ttyUSB-rs485@2400,CHARSET(ISO-8859-1),BASE64" }

/rules/projectorscreen.rules
rule “Screen_Down”
when
Item ProjectorScreen changed from OFF to ON
then
sendCommand(ProjectorScreenRS485,’\u00FF\u00EE\u00EE\u00EE\u00EE’)
logInfo(“ProjectorScreen”, “Projector Screen Down”)
end

rule “Screen_Up”
when
Item ProjectorScreen changed from ON to OFF
then
sendCommand(ProjectorScreenRS485,’\u00EE\u00EE\u00EE\u00EE\u00DD’)