[SOLVED] Rule randomly delayed 0-30 seconds

Hi there!

I’m rather new to openHAB, but I’ve set up already some automation. Now I struggle with the usability of the automations, since some rules execute delayed. The delay is not predictable, it varies from instantly to 30 seconds. I can see in the log viewer that the event I’m reacting on in the rule is definitively immediately thrown. I’ve no clue about the origin of the delay and already performed many experiments to narrow down the reason.

Here’s what I tested:

1. I’ve read in this forum and found a few mentions of similar behavior. Solutions had to do with with rather limited threadpools. So I tried increasing the threadpool using
    org.eclipse.smarthome.threadpool:safeCall=15
    org.eclipse.smarthome.threadpool:ruleEngine=16

This had no effect on the delay.

1. I uninstalled the Expire plugin for other possible threadpool reasons. At first, it seemed to improve the delay, but it was a false positive due to the nature of the delay (0-30 seconds).

2. I removed alle rule-files except the motion.rules, where I have a simple rule included, which I planned to extend – but I need to solve the delay first:

rule "Switch table light on if motion is detected in second floor living room"
when
    Item IsensorsSfLrMotion1_Motion received update
then
    if (IsensorsSfLrMotion1_Motion.state == ON) {
        logInfo("motion", "Motion in second floor living room: switching lights on")
        sendCommand(IlightsSfLrTable, 100)
    } else {
        logInfo("motion", "No more motion in second floor living room: switching lights off")
        sendCommand(IlightsSfLrTable, 0)
    }
end

The rule-removal did not have any noticeable effect.