Rules DSL conversion to JS Scripting

I had a rule that, when a member of the family changed rooms, would update the occupancy status of each room. The original rule was:

rule "Room Occupancy Updater" 
when
    Member of Adults changed
then
    gRoomOccupancy.members.forEach[ room |
        if (room.name == Chet.state.toString || room.name == Kathrin.state.toString) {
            room.sendCommand(ON)
        } else {
            room.sendCommand(OFF)
        }
    ]
end 

This was working fine, but I am slowly converting my rules to javascript, and this one was next on my list. It was challenging for me as I have no experience with javascript, but after some reading, googling, etc. I was able to rewrite it as shown below:

items.getItem("gRoomOccupancy").members.forEach(function (room) {
  let ChetK = items.getItem("Chet")
  let KatS = items.getItem("Kathrin")
  let location = actions.Semantics.getLocation(room.rawItem)
  if(location.name == ChetK.state || location.name == KatS.state) {
    room.sendCommand("ON")
  } 
  else { room.sendCommand("OFF")}})

I have been relying on examples from other people’s rules they have posted in the forum so I thought I would add my own in case it might be of help to someone.

1 Like

Thanks for posting.

I can think of one minor improvement (which would also apply to the original rule too).

Let’s make it so it only sends the ON command to the room that the person just entered instead of both rooms. That way, if for example Kathrin is in the TV room with the lights off, it doesn’t turn ON again when Chet enters the kitchen (assumes the light turns on in the TV room when you enter it).