.rules file not recognised by opehab

Hi all, I’m sorry to post this is it’s already covered by I can’t find the answer in the community posts.

I’m new to openhab. I have openhab 2.5 up and running on a windows 10 machine and have written the beginning of my .things, .items, .sitemap files in VScode but can’t get any rules to work. I have written a .rules file but nothing happens and I can’t find any reference to it in the logs.

I’ve noticed in VScode that all my other config file show an icon when I type in the correct extension name but this doesn’t happen for my .rules file.

I seems as though openhab and VScode are not recognising the file. Has anyone else seen this before? Can anyone offer any advice? I’ve tried copying a .rules file from a demo installation an this isn’t recognised either. Do I need to have a binding installed for the .rules file to be recognised?

Everything else is working just fine. I can send a receive MQTT commands but can’t make any rules work.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

There is nothing special to use rules, other than:

• Rules files must be placed in the ./rules/ directory
  • Rules files must be named like my.rules (where my may vary)

Rules files will be ignored if there are severe errors in it, but openHAB will log a message (’… file has errors, therefor ignoring it’

In question of your version: Which version exact do you use? Please don’t try the nightly version for now, as there may be severe issues. Either use openHAB2.4 (aka stable) or openHAB2.5M1 (aka milestone or testing).

Hi Hartmann,

Thanks for the fast response. What you have states about the .rules file location and .rules naming is what I have followed. This is why I’m at a loss of what step to take next.

I am using openHAB 2.5.0 Build#1589. Can you suggest a direction to take from here? There is no mention of rules in the openHAB log file. It seems like openHAB is not seeing the file at all. I am using VScode to create and edit the config files.