Rules not triggering when item receives command

I’m new to OH but I’m very excited by the prospects. The first major hurdle I’m having is getting my triggers to work. I have a WOL script that I’d like to trigger with a switch, I’m using the UI editor. The script works correctly when executed in the script editor, but I cannot get the trigger to run the script either from a page or a siteMap via iOS.

triggers:
  - id: "1"
    configuration:
      itemName: wol_entertainment
      state: ON
      previousState: OFF
    type: core.ItemStateChangeTrigger
conditions: []
actions:
  - inputs: {}
    id: "2"
    configuration:
      type: application/vnd.openhab.dsl.rule
      script: |-
        val actions = getActions("network", "network:pingdevice:cea6b998bb")
        if (actions === null) {
            logInfo("actions", "Actions not found, check thing ID")
            return
        } else {
            // Send via MAC address
            //actions.sendWakeOnLanPacketViaMac()
          logInfo("triggered", "WOL action triggered")
            actions.sendWakeOnLanPacket() // deprecated

// Send via IP address
            //actions.sendWakeOnLanPacketViaIp()
        }
    type: script.ScriptAction

The event generated by the switch item is shown in the log:

[TRACE] [openhab.event.ItemCommandEvent       ] - Received event of type 'ItemCommandEvent' under the topic 'openhab/items/wol_entertainment/command' with payload: '{"type":"OnOff","value":"ON"}'
  • Platform information:
    • Hardware: BSD Jail
    • Java Runtime Environment: openjdk 11.0.12 2021-07-20
    • openHAB version: 3.1.0

Your screenshot and your code do not match.
In your script you have to use the command trigger as shown in the screenshot.

type: core.ItemCommandTrigger

In your GUI simply send ON command to wol_entertainment

No, that’s the event sent from your UI.
The Item command event should be found in your events.log, to make sure the chain is complete.