Rules problem, read by the system at all?

Im new to this and Im trying writing my first very basic rule…just to turn on lights at a specified time… and then turn off later also at a specified time. But nothing happens at the desired time and nothing is to be found in the logs…

Im running openhab2 on a raspberry pi 2 (jessie)
I have put my test-rules in the pre-created folder: /etc/openhab2/rules

the file is called “Annie.rule” and is owned by “openhab” user.
The items (z-wave switches) I have successfully configured and labeled through the PaperUi.

import org.openhab.core.library.types.*
import org.openhab.core.persistence.*
import org.openhab.model.script.actions.*
import org.joda.time.*
import org.java.math.*

rule "turn on"
when
    Time cron "0 30 15 * * ?"
then
  sendCommand(Annies_room, ON)
  logDebug("Annie","Annies_room changed")
end

rule "turn off"
when
    Time cron "0 45 19 * * ?"
then
  sendCommand(Annies_room, OFF)
  logDebug("Annie","Annies_room changed")
end

Would be greatful for some help, thanks in advance!
//Johan

The ending of the file needs to be " .rules" !

1 Like

I had the feeling I would be embarrased in some way …! Thanks :grinning:

No problem, everybody has started once.
You could change “sendCommand(Annies_room, OFF)” to the method version “Annies_room.sendCommand(OFF)”.

BTW: Under my first reply you have a button to mark this one as the solution!

I get “url not found” when I try to click solved-button at your first reply …

Juat an FYI: The first line should only be imported on openHAB 1.x runtime when you need to access the *Type classes. The next two never need to be imported. The last two would only need to be imported if you were using classes in those packages.

Thanks for pointing that out … how can I know what to import and when ? Is there some guide anywhere? :cold_sweat: