Saving on Air Conditioning

Hi all,

I have a rule that triggers at 5:30AM to cool the house down to 72 degrees if the high temperature for the day will be hotter than 85 degrees. After cooling, I set the thermostat to 78 degrees for the rest of the day. (Our high temp lately is in the mid-90s)

My rational is… I can cool the house down more efficiently early in the morning, rather than having the HVAC kicking on and off throughout the hot afternoon. This seems to work and the HVAC doesn’t normally come back on until the early evening. (I figure this may also save on wear and tear on the HVAC unit)

I’d like to hear what others think of this idea?

Mike

If your AC truly does not come on again until early evening you’re probably doing it right.

I’m no expert, but from the metric crap ton of reading i’ve done i feel I’m at least somewhat qualified.

In general, a properly functioning central AC system can bring a house down 1 degree F per hour (of course there are lots of conditions attached to that). That being the case, it takes AC a lot more time to cool a house than to heat it, which makes it a bad idea to leave AC off all day. An exception would be if your AC really only starts up again in the early evening. As long as it’s remaining comfortable for you running like that, I see no issue.

If it takes all day long from morning until evening for your home to heat up from 72 to 78 with an outside temperature in the mid 90s, then you must have an extremely well insulated home with amazing windows. This is not something that would work for most homes. Personally, I am uncomfortable above 70, so I could never live under such conditions :slight_smile: