Self made Hardware

I am a newbie with openHAB and I have developed my hw board and I want connect it to openHAB.
If I have a proprietary protocolo how I can create my sw interface.
I am a bit confuse with the doc. Anyone can help me with the doc link and a brief explanation of how I can do.
thanks a lot

It would probably be easier and more flexible to convert your proprietary protocol to something openHAB already understands such as TCP sockets, external scripts, HTTP, MQTT, GPIO pins, etc.

Failing that, the How to Implement a Binding wiki page is where you want to look.

Thanks for istant reply!
Uhm…I still have a lot to learn …

Ok, if I use a serial port with my proprietary protocol I must create my binding but I think isn’t the most straightforward solution…

If I use the eth port with TCP socket where I have to declare the message structure ?
For example: field offset 4 byte in my data is the room temperature integer 16bit format

You would create an Item bound to the Serial binding to read your messages and write a rule to parse your data and populate your Items.

You would create an Item bound to the TCP binding to read the data off of the socket and then write a rule to parse the data read and populate your Items.

The advantage of doing this in rules as opposed to writing your own binding is that as openHAB continues to grow and when openHAB 2 is released your code will still work. If you write your own binding you will have to keep up with changes to openHAB.

However, working with binary data in Java and by extension openHAB rules is pretty clunky, I personally would probably write something in Python (or your language of choice) and, if openHAB polls for the messages, have openHAB call the Python script using the Exec binding. If the data comes in on a stream I would write a Python (or your language of choice) service that reads and parses your proprietary protocol and pushes them to openHAB. I personally would use MQTT but there are other approaches.