Semantic model - return to the previous node in the tree view when returning to /settings/model

• openHAB version: 3.1.0 main

Use case:
As an administrator, I would like there to be a setting to allow the view of the Semantic Model to remain at the same node in the model as I was last working with the last time I used the Semantic Model browser.

Present behavior:
If I leave the /settings/model/-page to check something (e.g an Item, a rule or whatever), when I return to the Semantic model, the tree has collapsed and I have to click my way down the tree all over again.

Severity:
low (but it sure would be nice :slight_smile: )

Best /Brus-Per

Open another tab on the browser and just switch between the two. That’s how I do it.
ctrl-page up and ctrl-page down to jump between the tabs.

Agree, that’s what I do as well but sometimes (too often) I forget to switch to another window just to find myself traversing the tree again…

You can type the item in the search and that will filter out all the locations that don’t have that item in it and then you can get there in the model faster.

Example without filter looking for coffee machine:

Example with filter:

Well, in fact, there is no reason at all to return to another menu when saving changes.
This is also true for items and things - especially for things, because whenever creating a thing manually, one has to find the thing by searching in the things list right after creating the thing, because the thing has no channels yet (and of course you would like to link the channels to some items).

So why return to the things list after thing creation? And this is true also for the semantic model…

Another work around is to use the Developer Sidebar. You can search for and see your Items, Things, Rules etc and even pin the ones that are currently relevant there.

You can click on the Item to see its current state or the pencil to go to the Item’s settings page.