Sending a notification when smoke is detected or test button is pushed - Heiman HS1SA

Hi

I am completely new to OpenHab and having some great fun with it. I’ve managed to get my Z Wave network up and running and have followed the getting started tutorials on the OpenHab website. Ive also got myOpenHab up and running and I was able to follow a tutorial sending push notifications to my mobile phone and also by SMS when you toggle a switch via the Basic UI. Great!!

OK I’ve purchased a Heiman Smoke Detector - HS1SA
http://www.heimantech.com/product/89.html

Ive got it showing up on OpenHab ok and I can see the status as being online.

I am trying to now create a simple rule with notifications.rules so that when the smoke detector goes off or I press the test button I merely need a notification to be sent either to my phone or mail.
I can’t seem to get it to work and its really starting to bug me. I have gone through similar examples based on this. If anyone could kindly help my sanity I would be very grateful for your help.

In my notifications.rules I have this which was modified from the example I had working above so I know that notifications definitely do work ok but something isn’t right here as when I press the smoke alarm test button I don’t get a notification.

rule "Fire in Office"
when
         Item zwave_device_7763853a_node6_alarm_smoke changed
then
         if(zwave_device_7763853a_node6_alarm_smoke.state == ON)
         {
                logInfo("notifications", "Smoke Detected in Office")
                sendNotification("xxxxxxxx@gmail.com", "Smoke Detected in Office")
        }
end

In my notifications.items I created:

Switch zwave_device_7763853a_node6_alarm_smoke "Office Smoke" <switch>

Can someone please provide some insight? I don’t see the notification being sent to myOpenHab nor do the logs show up anything.

Much appreciated.

1 Like