SensorPush Binding

Hi everyone. I’ve written a new binding for SensorPush sensors, and I’m looking for people interested in testing it out. I’ve already created a PR for it, but it is marked as a work-in-progress pending additional testing.

The binding relies on the documented API for their cloud service. They’re considering creating a local API, but one is not available yet. If they do add one later, the binding is designed in such a way that I should be able to add a new bridge thing for it.

A test build of the binding is available here:

The PR, if you are interested, is on github here:

Hi Bob, I am new to openHAB and have SensorPush sensors. I want to try your binding if I can figure out how to install it.

Hi Koen. Assuming you are running openHAB 3.0 or a 3.1 development version, you should be able to just download the .jar file from the link above and put it in the addons directory on your system. That path varies depending on how you installed openhab, but if you are running on Linux it is probably /usr/share/openhab/addons or /opt/openhab/addons.

The binding is pretty simple to use, especially if you configure it through the GUI.

Draft docs are available here:

Hi Bob,

since I use openHAB for the first time, it took me some time to configure it. I have only the HT1 type because in March 2019, when they released the API, this was the only availble sensor. So cannot help you with testing the other types. Depending on the progress of implementing openHAB, I will replace my old outdoor sensor by a HTP.XW sensor.
Thanks for the great implementation.

Koen

Hi Koen. Thanks. Please let me know how it works for you and if you have any problems with it.
I’m hoping that it will be reviewed and merged in before the 3.1.0-M4 milestone build, and certainly before the 3.1.0 release.
Remember to delete the beta .jar file from your addons directory once you upgrade to a version of openHAB that includes it natively.

Hi Bob,