Set a item to Null if not updated?

I’ve got OpenHab listening to MQTT data from some home made temperature sensors.
When it’s working, it all runs fine, but sometimes a sensor dies or my sensor hub locks up and OpenHab just reports the last value it received.

Is there any way to make it so my temperature items get set to Null or ‘-’ or something if they’re not updated for 5 minutes?

Getting a null value to put back into the item is shown in this post:

But you’d need to wrapper it in a rule, with an internally cancelled/started Timer, that triggers 5 minutes after the last received update.

There are examples of that in the openHAB wiki

1 Like

Hi Mark, thanks for pointing me in the right direction. I’m very new to OpenHab, so this is my first time looking at the rules.

It looks like I can build a rule around this, but I’ve got a couple of questions:

1. The code DateTimeItem(“trashTalking”).state is obviously for a DateTime object, is there something similar for a Number?
  2. Does the rules engine automatically delete the object from the previous run? For example if I make a timer object and set it to 5 minutes, do I need to explicitly kill that object the next time the function is triggered? Or is it deleted when the function is re-triggered?

In the example, substitute NumberItem for DatetimeItem and it works there also.

These all descend from the internal GenericItem:
https://github.com/openhab/openhab/blob/master/bundles/core/org.openhab.core/src/main/java/org/openhab/core/items/GenericItem.java

And you’ll see the it sets the state to UnDefType.NULL

For the Timer, you typically end up with the variable declared outside/above the Rule so it’s remembered from one execution to another.

Then, upon each Rule invocation, you need to cancel the last Timer and start a new one. As long as data keeps coming in from the device, the Rule keeps executing, and it’ll cancel the last Timer and start a new one.