Setup for cheap hardware

Hi All.

I’m new to Openhab, but like DIY-projects. Receantly I bought a set of remote switches (http://www.harald-nyborg.dk/p10047/stikkontakt-fjernbetjent-3-stk) and started reading about home automation. After som reading I settled on Openhab for many reasons - for one, I could make good use of my Raspberry Pi. The easy solution would be to buy for instance a Tellstick Duo, but there isn’t that much DIY in that, so I went for the cheap and more DIY-solution and bought a set of RF receiver and transmitter (http://www.dx.com/p/geeetech-superheterodyne-3400-wirelesss-receiver-433mhz-rf-transmitter-kit-green-370793)

After a bit of tinkering I got Pilight to record the remote signal and am able to toggle the switches via Pilight-send. So one way to go is to setup Pilight and maybe some scripts and make use of the Pilight-binding, to control it from Openhab.

Or should I use the exec-binding and call the scripts directly from Openhab (the Pilight-deamon needs to be running)?

Or is there some way to send the “codes” directly from Openhab, which I haven’t discovered yet?

There is a enter link description here Pilight binding for OH. You will still need the Pilight daemon running but you can send codes directly through the binding rather than needing to use the exec binding.

Rich

Yes, okay. What is the benefits of sending code through the Pilight-binding rather than using the exec-binding?

I have a server running 24/7. Should I run Openhab on the server and Pilight on the pi (or maybe pi’s) or should I run Pilight and Openhab side by side on the pi?

I just read about running multible Openhab-instances with MQTT. I don’t yet understand the concept, but it’s something about - if one Openhab-instance crashes, you are still able to turn on and off lights etc. because the other(s) take over. That might influence the decision of the question of where to run Openhab…

/Klaus