Simple basic Script example in OH3

Hi All,
I started in December 2020 with the Openhab 3 and have already created a nice model and want now to go into the really exciting part of home automation and writing scripts.
I’m new in the script part and want to learn how to use it in OH3. I have some background in programming but not in scripting in OH3.
I experience that I learn the best via studying examples. So I have a issue I want to solve with a script.

How would a script look if i want to switching on/of a IR-heater and using two variables (temp_setpoint_on and temp_setpoint_off) that are defined as items that i can control via a slicer, like a virtual thermostat.
So my issue is describes as follow:

when
RoomTempSensor changes
if value of the RoomTempSensor < variable temp_setpoint_on
then
switch “on” heater
write to logfile “heater is on”
else
if value of room_temp_sensor > variable temp_setpoint_off
then
switch “off” heater
write to logfile “heater is off”
end if

Can someone create an example script that I can study and change later to my needs (example adding timers etc) . Or can point me someone into the right direction with examples or a kind of training on how create those script’s?

Which language? Text files or in the UI?

Ill give a couple of examples of rules i currently have.

This one has Items.state, and timers in it.

When my item SprinklerSystemZone2_Countdown is updated, the rule runs, updates some items for my main UI to show me how long remaining on the timer, then sets a timer for 1 minute. After the 1 minute it updates SprinklerSystemZone2_Countdown again and the rule runs again.
Continues until SprinklerSystemZone2_Countdown = 0

var logger = Java.type('org.slf4j.LoggerFactory').getLogger('org.openhab.rule.' + ctx.ruleUID);

var ScriptExecution = Java.type("org.openhab.core.model.script.actions.ScriptExecution");

var ZonedDateTime   = Java.type("java.time.ZonedDateTime");

var timer4;