Simple (?) password problem

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: Raspberry Pi 4
    • Java Runtime Environment: Java 8
    • openHAB version: per Openhabian 1.5
  • Issue of the topic: I’m new to Linux and have done very little command line computing for many years. I completed setup by ethernet using openhabian v1.5, and made a written note of personal passwords whenever used, but when I tried to log back on using ssh by ethernet from my Windows 10 computer, my password and all imaginable variants were rejected. So I formatted the SD card (though only the boot partition was visible on my PC), re-installed openhabian, emptied the knownhosts file and tried again to log on, only to find my password still required but not accepted. The actual password request is: Mike@openhub’s password: . I had gone through all the steps for configuring Samba etc, which was possibly unwise at this stage. Where is this password stored, and how can I reset it? Or is there another workaround? Any help much appreciated.

WHat connection does not work, ssh or samba?

Need more info to help.

Did you use the openHABian image or did you install Raspbian first openHABian manually next? If the latter, what does “reinstall” mean ?
What account do you talk about ? There is no personal account on default openHABian installs, you are supposed to use “openhabian”. If you flash the card, any account you might have added before will be gone so it’s no surprise it doesn’t work any longer - youneed to create it again.
As user openhabian, you can sudo cmd pretty much anything as root.
As you talk about changing passwords I assume that access is still working.

Thanks for quick responses, Danny and Markus, and apologies for my lack of precision.