Simple Sonos setup - utterly dazed and confused!

I’m a beginner.
I’ve set up using the Paper UI one sonos device (Beam).
This appears in the Control section - where the menu items work for the device.
Essentially, I simply want to be able to mute/unmute the sound (and possibly the volume). Aim is to register this via openhab cloud (for google home access).

I am utterly confused by all the documentation and the detailed postings I’ve read - I’m unsure about how to format the item and thing config files (and whether I need a sitemap file?)

I’ve modified a couple of thing and item files I found on github, but it’ss all hit and miss. I could post them in a follow up if someone is prepared to help me (with a breakthrough!)

I’m confused by how to move on from the web control setup I have working.

Hope some kind user can help me out.

Welcome to the openHAB Forum.

If you have your Beam as as item, you will find under each channel ( like mute) the correct syntax to be used for linking an item. Using the button next to it will copy that string.
Something like:

Dimmer MyBeamVolume {channel=“sonos…”}

Thinking about it, if you can control the Beam from the control section you already have those channels linked to items (most probably done automatically by the simple mode).

Thanks for the reply!

Yes I have the channels set-up.

But my problem starts with what to declare in the thing and item config files.

So I the following content (not saved in the /conf folder as yet).

sonos.things

Thing sonos:Beam:BEAM “BeamTV” [udn=“RINCON_949F3ED5AA0601400”, refresh=60]

sonos.items

Player Sonos_Controller “Controller” (Sonos) {channel=“sonos:Beam:BEAM:control”}
Dimmer Sonos_Volume “Volume [%.1f %%]” (Sonos) {channel=“sonos:Beam:BEAM:volume”}
Switch Sonos_Mute “Mute” <soundvolume_mute> (Sonos) {channel=“sonos:Beam:BEAM:mute”}

I haven’t set up a sitemap file.