Sitemap creation - first time user

Hi guys,

I’m a total noob, haven’t coded in my life. I’ve set up openhab2 and have got to the stage where I’m trying to create my first sitemap (default.sitemap). However, when I go to Basic UI, it doesn’t show the sitemap I’ve created. I am running this on a windows laptop.

I’ve created the default.sitemap and default.items via windows explorer (new text file then naming it default.sitemap), is this the right way to add a file for openhab2 to read it?

Any help would be much appreciated,

Thanks

Show us your item- and sitmap-file
use Demo for the initial setup
and a editor like VisualStudioCode

There are a number of things that has to be correct for the sitemap to work.

Please check that your windows editor have not added another extension to the file (like default.sitemap.txt) and that you have put the sitemap file in the sitemap folder. If that does not work, please post you sitemap and items file(s) and we can all have a look.

ups… did not see your post @hr3

I’m using notepad++ as the editor. The file names don’t end in .txt.

default.items:
Switch Presence_Mobile_Dinesh “Dinesh” { channel=“network:device:192_168_1_4:online” }

Switch Wallplug_FF_LR_TV “Wallplug TV” { channel=“mihome:sensor_plug:158d0001b7dcc3:power” }

default.sitemap
sitemap default label=“My first sitemap”
{
Switch item=Presence_Mobile_Dinesh label="Dinesh"
Switch item=Wallplug_FF_LR_TV label=“Wallplug TV”
}

thanks

Switch Presence_Mobile_Dinesh "Dinesh" { channel="network:device:192_168_1_4:online" }
Switch Wallplug_FF_LR_TV "Wallplug TV" { channel="mihome:sensor_plug:158d0001b7dcc3:power" }
sitemap default label="My first sitemap"
{
Switch item=Presence_Mobile_Dinesh label="Dinesh"
Switch item=Wallplug_FF_LR_TV label="Wallplug TV"
}

I have changed the quotation marks

It still says “it seems like you have not defined any sitemaps yet. To build one, please check the documentation for guidance.”

Are the files in the correct librarys
…/conf/items/