[SOLVED] Adding a Binding

Hello All

I am very new to openhab and trying to learn as much as I can, I have a raspberry Pi set up with openhab installed and I am trying to add a new binding to my device one that is not currently in the default list. my understanding is I need to copy the binding folder to /usr/share/openhab2/addons to be able to install from paper UI
but I cant work out how to copy the binding over.
If I try and access the openhab device through windows network it asks for user name and password and I have tried all I can think of none of them will work and windows wont read the SD card now I have installed openhab. is there software I needed to use or should I been doing this thought Putty

As I have said am new to this so sorry to ask such a simple question

Hello Chris,

first of all: did you try

user: openhab
password: openhab ? (see: http://docs.openhab.org/installation/linux.html#network-sharing)

You don’t need Putty for this.

Regarding the manual installation from bindings:

You need the compiled version of the binding, so called “jar” files. I dont know which binding you mean, but search for a file with the ending .jar

This file needs to be placed in your addons folder.

1 Like

Hello

thank you I had not seen the information in that link and its most helpful

in regards to the binding, this is what I was looking at https://github.com/Hilbrand/openhab2-addons/releases/tag/2.1.0-SNAPSHOT-TP-Link not sure how far off the mark I am

thanks

So you want the tp link binding? Activate the eclipse Marketplace as a source for bindings in PaperUI.

There you can find and activate it without doing anything manually. :wink:

Many thanks you have save me a lot of time