[SOLVED] How to add a MQTT Thing

Hi everyone, I am a newbie in OpenHAB, and I have something don’t understand when I want to add a MQTT Thing

1. Following this, there are 6 steps to add a Thing to OpenHAB, and step 3 is add Thing and configure. And I can configure by add a .things file with syntax: Thing <binding_id>:<type_id>:<thing_id> “Label” @ “Location” [ ]. But I wondering, with MQTT what are binding_id, type_id, thing_id? Can you write a example for me?

2. When I read this to add a MQTT Thing, I add a file services/mqtt.cfg with content: “m2m-eclipse.url=tcp://m2m.eclipse.org:1883” and then I add and configure files in items folder and sitemap folder. But according this, I just add a Item not a Thing? I’m wondering about this? Can somebody explain for me? Or OpenHAB do not support add MQTT Things?

Thank you very much!!!

1 Like

you don’t need a thing for mqtt
MQTT Binding

But I think everything that OpenHAB control should be a Thing and inside a Thing, you can have some Items and Channels?

just add the binding and link the channel to the item. Examples are in the link above.

So it’s a Item not a Thing?

Everything links to an item eventually.

Add an item to your items file with the channel for mqtt. Then add it to your sitemap.

Not sure if you can set it up through paperui, I’ve never tried.

FYI

The binding name and version tell me its a legacy binding. Only version 2 or above will ever support a thing and some of them don’t either as there isn’t a need for them always.

binding-mqtt1 - 1.12.0.SNAPSHOT

Yeah. I did it and it’s work. But it’s not show in PaperUI so I thing I have to add it’s as a Thing. So now it’s clear. Thank you very much :+1:

This was helpful…just configured the item for MQTT binding and connected to my ESP8266…things are working fine…

Hi all

I have SONOFF devices, which I can contact and command by items I created.