[SOLVED] Just Starting Looking For Ideas (NOOB)

Hi everyone I’m dipping my toes into the the water of home automation,
I have little knowledge about how it all works so I would like to get some advice and assistance,

I have installed OH on a Windows machine using PaperUI I have also started adding some widgets to habpannel sorted some bindings NTP, KODI , ASTRO & Weather ,Samsung tv ect…

I have not got any devices to controll sockets and lights at the moment and was looking for some tips here. (I don’t want to spend £40 a socket and can’t do any modification as this is not my house)

What are you all using in your system for lights , sockets , door sensors ect ?

How easy is it to intergrated something like in this video

That depends on the hardware you want to buy and your skills.
To build the shown transmitter you need to wire the small transmitter peace to the other board. If you are hesitating to do things like that you can buy a complete so called CUL-stick from busware. de, look yourself if you want to spent that much.
Everything else just depends o the sockets you have. In my house I use rf-sockets that are over 25 years old with my OH installation.

Thanks for a reply my knowledge of coding ect is pretty much non existent I am efficient using a Windows machine and don’t mind some hard work I just can’t afford the prices for things like wemo and hue

[EDIT] I have just looked at the product you mentioned it actually looks like a cleaner solution than the one in the video, how are you controlling your RF Sockets?

The sockets are very cheap, this CUL-stick however does have a bigger price, so it is up to you, either DI or spend the money . But you only need one CUL-stick.

With the price of 1 wemo at £40 and RF sockets at 3 for half the price a clu stick would pay for itself pretty quick

So you are using RF sockets in your system controlled by one of these sticks