[Solved] OpenHAB web sitemap freezes when I add a specific Light

Hi All,

I’m just getting started with OpenHAB (Arch Linux, OpenHAB version 1.8) and I started by adding the hue binding, but I’m running into an issue with one of the lights. for some reason, whenever I add greathallHue to a group, that group will cause the webpage to “freeze” until I reload the page. All other lights work fine.

home.items:

/* Groups */
Group bedroom
Group greatroom
Group lights
Group weatherHome

/* Weather */
Number  Temperature_F   "Temperature [%.2f °F]" (weatherHome)   {weather="locationId=home, type=temperature, property=current, unit=fahrenheit"}

/* Lights */
Color bedroomHue "Bedroom Lamp" <hue> (bedroom,lights) {hue="1"}
Color greatroomHue "Greatroom Lamp" <hue> (greatroom,lights) {hue="5"}
Dimmer bedhallHue "Bedroom Hallway Light" <hue> (greatroom,lights) {hue="3;brightness"}
Dimmer greathallHue "Greatroom Hallway Light" <hue> (greatroom,lights) {hue="4;brightness"}

home.sitemap:

sitemap home label="Home"
{
  Frame {
    Group item=weatherHome label="Home Weather" icon="sun"
}

Frame {
    Group item=lights label="All Lighting" icon="hue"
    Group item=bedroom label="Bedroom" icon="bedroom"
    Group item=greatroom label="Greatroom" icon="smartheater"
}

`

Anybody have any ideas? Doesn’t look like I’ve misspelled something so I’m at a complete loss, and I tried searching but couldn’t find anything

I had a similar issue. Try changing your items to include [%s %%] inside your label value.

Like:
Dimmer bedhallHue “Bedroom Hallway Light [%s %%]” (greatroom,lights) {hue=“3;brightness”}
Dimmer greathallHue “Greatroom Hallway Light [%s %%]” (greatroom,lights) {hue=“4;brightness”}

This workaround should no longer be required in openHAB 1.8.1. Please upgrade to 1.8.1, remove the workaround and let us know!

Oh thanks! Sorry, I didn’t even know a 1.8.1 was out. I’ll give it a go this evening and report back.