[SOLVED] So close but no cigar

Hello everyone.

I’m new to the forum and OpenHab.

I’l start by saying I’m not a coder. All these rules look extremely complicated to me.

That being said I’ve been reading up on the site and used samples of other people’s rules (a big thank you to @_Matt).

I have a rule that is almost perfect…but not good enough.

I am trying to write a rule that will start a ten minute timer at 21:50. If there is no motion within the ten minutes, the lights turn off. If there is motion, the timer resets for another ten minutes.

The rule I have will work but only if there is someone home. If I’m working late or on holiday, the rule won’t fire.

//Define Variables
    var Timer LivingroomLightTimer = null

//Livingroom Movement sensor

rule "Livingroom Light Timer"
    when Item GF_LivingRoom_Motion changed from ON to OFF
    then
    if(now.getHourOfDay() >= 21.50 && now.getHourOfDay() < 6){
            if(LivingroomLightTimer!==null) {
                    LivingroomLightTimer.cancel()
            }
           }
            LivingroomLightTimer = createTimer(now.plusMinutes(10)) [| 
                    GF_LivingDining_Light.sendCommand(OFF)
            ]
    end

It’s the When statement I need to change but I’ve tried cron and I get a weird error ‘missing EOF at ‘When’’

I know I’m so close to cracking this but I just need a little help with the trigger.

I also tried to send an ‘ON’ command to the motion sensor at 21:50 to trigger the countdown, but I couldn’t get that to work either.

Can someone save me from going mad?

Many thanks
Ben

Ok,

Install the expire binding

Create another item called:

Switch LivingRoomLightTimer { expire="10m, command=OFF" }

and your rules:

when
    Time cron "0 50 21 ? * * *" or                   // at 21:50 or
    Item GF_LivingRoom_Motion changed from OFF to ON //Motion Detected
then
    LivingRoomLightTimer.sendCommand(ON) //Start timer or reset timer
end

rule "LivingRoomlightTimer Expire"
when