[SOLVED] Switch for heated towel bar

Hi guys I just wanted to double check this before I tried it out. I have an amba heated towel rack and I’d like to be able to turn it on and program it. When installed I didnt put a smart switch in and would like to ad one. It’s hardwired and draws 1.6 amps.

As I am looking at switches it occurs to me that I could probably use any programmable/scene capable wall switch is this correct? I was thinking about a weMo (wifi) or homeseer (zwave) switch because that is what I have been using up until this point. Does anyone have any experience with this or just think it will work. I would just like to not waste effort if possible. I see that there is one marketed by a company that sells towel bars and it is a wemo but they want $70 for what looks like a standard switch.

Any input is appreciated.

Thanks
Jared

Hi Jared (@rahimlee54),

I suspect that your heated towel rack is a resistive load, so I do not think you will have any problem using a smart switch (typically a controlled relay) rated for more than 1.6 amps. Most such devices that I am aware of are rated for maximum loads of 8 amps or more, which means you have plenty of choices.

Good luck!

I suspect this will be in a wet room. Choose a device with a good IP rating.
Or you could use a sonoff in a waterproof box:

Hi @scottk the unit is an amba jeeves. It works off of 115 V (US power) and is wired into a breaker like any other electrical here. I think you’re right it’s resistive and filled with mineral oil.

@vzorglub I hadn’t thought about the sonoff but that could work as well. The switch is in a water closet behind the door around 4 ft from the toilet. While technically a “wet” location I think the likely hood of anything happening are very low. The current switch is in the wall in a standard electrical box.

Thanks for the input guys
Jared

Beware of condensation